a week in the life…..

In My Life this Week….

Well, fall break is offically over. We are back to the routine…and I use the term routine very loosely. There is nothing wrong with routine. But our version of routine is very laid back. Some might even consider us “routine-less.” But that’s okay. It works for us!

In our homeschool this week…..

Monday – Well, I planned for Monday to be our “get it together” day. I was going to get caught up on checking everyone’s independent work – particularly Bible and math. However, Lil Sis woke up with a stomach virus. So my plans for the day were quickly cancelled. Lil Sis and I snuggled for a while, read for a while, and watched Pocahontas. Big Sis and Middle Sis continued with their work and stayed away. As they stated, “We don’t want that mess!” 🙂 Since Lil Sis couldn’t go to her violin lessons, Big Sis got an hour lesson. That made me happy!  By late afternoon, Lil Sis was feeling better so we went for a little walk just to get out of the house.

Tuesday – Finally, I had a “get it together” day. We got Big Sis all caught up with her math. She is really doing better than she thinks she is doing. However, I am thinking about trying a new curriculum – maybe Teaching Textbooks?????

Big Sis, Middle Sis, and I went over their science work. They are enjoying Apologia’s Exploring Creation through Physical Science. Well, not really enjoying it but, at least, having some fun with it. They are studying the atmosphere and have a module test this week 🙂

Big Sis and Middle Sis have decided to start their own “business.” They are going to be artists and sell their paintings. They even have a name – Paint for His Glory!  They have developed a business plan and an advertisement plan. Nothing like an unexpected economics unit study 🙂  Lil Sis has gotten in on the business, too. She informed them that she would either be a partner or their competition 🙂 I guess our art appreciation field trip last week created some interest!

Wednesday – All of our great co-op classes resumed on Wednesday after a week break. Science lab was great – the experiment actually worked. I always worry when I haven’t tested the experiment. But this one was successful. We investigated the wonder of water and used a great experiment from the Apoligia book.

Mix a solution of water and epsom salt. Place a 9V battery in the solution. I love seeing all the boys gathered around their experiment.

Let it sit for about 10 minutes. Bubbles come out of the terminals from the release of hydrogen and oxygen.  
Fill test tubes with the solution and place the test tubes over the terminals. The terminal releasing hydrogen will fill up with gas (pushing the water out). Why?? The kids figured out why – can you ?????   🙂

We also made H2O molecules. 

Thursday & Friday- Everyone had a couple of test on Friday. I worked Thursday so it was a study day.  Friday was a test day.  I got Lil Sis’s stomach virus so the Man stepped in a helped A LOT. 

Questions/thoughts I have

 I am considering changing math curriculum for Big Sis. Anyone use Teaching Textbooks? Any opinions about changing curriculum this far into the year. I have changed things that were not working in the middle of the year before but not math.

My favorite thing this week was….

Watching an listening to Middle Sis and Big Sis develop their business plan – of course, I don’t think that they realize that they are learning 🙂

I am grateful for….

The Man! It is great to have a hubby who has a flexible schedule (even with school and two ministry jobs) and is willing to help with homeschooling!!

I am praying for….

A missionary family that is overseas. The father is very, very ill and needs prayer warriors intercessing on his behalf. Also praying for the wife as she tries to juggle a critically ill husband in ICU, three small kids, and living in a different country.

Linked Up with….

 The Homeschool Mother's Journal

About byhisdesign5

Headed to South Africa; following God's lead!
This entry was posted in homeschooling, ScienceLab, Weekly Wrap Up and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to a week in the life…..

  1. Is everyone feeling better?

    Physical Science looks like a lot of fun. LOVE the molecule models! (My oldest wanted to try another curriculum for Science this year so we didn’t continue on with Physical like planned.)

    Good for them! I hope their business takes off! My kids have plans to make “big money” selling our CHICKEN EGGS, but they haven’t started laying yet and winter months are SLOW laying times. Perhaps in the spring!

    Thanks for stopping by! When my youngest was in OT we would go to the big city library, but we decided that our little library where our librarian REALLY knows us is much better.

    • byhisdesign5 says:

      Thanks for visiting. We love science – well, I love science. The girls claim that they don’t like going to science lab but when I mentioned not doing it next year with the co-op I got lots of whining 🙂

      I am praying that their “business” will be a success and teach them good things.

  2. Teresa says:

    I love hearing all that y’all are doing! Looks like the Science stuff is going great! I took my kids to a science class the other day and thought about you. They enjoyed mixing all sorts of stuff together and watching the chemical reaction. I need to do more if that kind of stuff with them:)
    I have heard that Teaching Textbooks is wonderful! I have thought about changing to it myself. I have never changed any over during a school year, but I bet it would work out fine.
    I also love your photos!!!! Can’t wait to get family pictures made by you one day;)
    Love you!

  3. Victoria says:

    My son enjoyed that experiment when he did it a few weeks ago. We were glad that it worked, too! 🙂

  4. Beth says:

    Love all the pictures in your wrap up! I would like to invite you to link up at my linky party – http://livinglifeintentionally.blogspot.com/search/label/Linkey%20Parties
    ~Beth

  5. Wendi says:

    Stomach bugs are the sicknesses I dread the most…hope everyone is on the mend 🙂

    My ds9 switched to Teaching Textbooks this year, he is using TT4 and is really enjoying it so far. I love the independence that it gives him. The only downside I have found so far is that it is not as advanced as other math programs…but I am fine with that. I hope you find something that works for you 🙂

  6. PrairieJenn says:

    I love the business your girls have created! Mine created a business last year, and I thougt it was awesome to see them plan and dream. Not to mention, it was a good math lesson!

    We switched over to TT math for my oldest in January of last year. It’s a little easier than Saxon was, but she works at her own pace and independently (that was my goal for her). I like it for her- she’s likes a slower, structured computer-based approach as opposed to any other format. Not sure it would work as well for my other daughter since she prefers hands-on and fun math activities:)

  7. Shonya says:

    I can relate to getting out of routine (even a loose one) and then trying to get back into it. Love that the kiddos are coming up with their own art business. Looks like a great week!

Leave a Reply

