an ordinary week

In My Life this Week….

Throughout the week, I always think “Wow, I should put this one the Weekly Wrap-Up.” Then I sit down at the computer. I don’t know what happens. It seems that my mind just goes blank. So I’m not really sure what happened in my life this week 🙂  I worked a little. I taught some classes for nurses. I homeschooled the girls. Just a typical week in our life!!

In our homeschool this week…..

 Monday – Of course, we started the week with Halloween. We do not really “do” Halloween. Or, at least, we haven’t in the last few years. This year we decided to visit some friends for Trunk-or-treat at their church. It was a last minute decision so we had to really put the customes together quickly.

We had Pippi Longstockings…..

…and the Ice Princess…..

….and the obnoxious football fan

Tuesday – we worked on the paintings for the craft fair. The girls had some great pics to sale. We also made went to the library. We haven’t been in about six months. I found out that we had a $30 fee. WHAT????? FOR OVERDUE BOOKS?????  I hope that I can get the new ones back before they are overdue.

Wednesday – Co-op day with public speaking and Latin. Lil Sis did her funny speech. She said it wasn’t that funny because only the adults laughed 🙂 We did not have science lab because I lost my mind and thought that I could be in two places at once. I really dislike having to cancel science lab. It is one of the highlights of my week.

Thursday – Craft fair night! The table was set up and everyone was ready. But no one wanted to actually sit at the table and sell their paintings. They expected me to do that while they ran around with their friends. So our economic study included a little “once you start something you have to follow through and finish it” talk.  It was a great experience for them. So proud of their artistic abilities as well as their math abilities (dividing up the profits and tithing).

Friday – After a late Thursday night, we slept in Friday morning. We finally got moving but really did not want to stay inside. It was a beautiful day!!!

Big Sis had a “math melt-down.” We talked about changing curriculum, and she took the placement test for Teaching Textbooks. But I just don’t know. She really does understand how to do it….she just doesn’t have the confidence to know that she knows how. And, of course, when I explain it she just gets more frustrated.

Then we were spontaneous and took an unplanned field trip.  We went to the zoo!! It was great because the day was wonderful, and the Man decided to go with us.

Since Lil Sis is doing Apologia’s Zoology 1 book Flying Creatures of the Fifth Day, we spent a lot of time looking at birds. We don’t know the names of all of them but will be looking them up in the field guide this week.

Did you know that pink flamingos are not pink until they are about 1-year-old?

a Whooping bird’s nest

These birds were so beautiful. We think that they are a type of mallard. Their colors were so vibrant that they looked like they were painted.

This guy was a little creepy. He followed us around for a while. He just looks mad at the world 🙂

The giraffes were very playful so we sat and watched them. They sounded like a huge herd with their hoofs hitting the ground. Middle Sis even took some time to sketch. We got some great fun facts. Did you know that a giraffe has the same number of vertebra in their neck as humans? Seven

This little guy was having a great time  playing with his mom…

…while his dad watched.

Big Sis took the camera for a little while and took some great pics. She is going to be a great photographer.

Ended the day at the port ministry where we did a little home ec and baked for the seafarers.

Saturday – While we were waiting at the port ministry for the cruise ship, Big Sis had a little math tutoring session with a good friend who has a math degree. And, as I thought, Big Sis does understand it. She just chooses to make it hard!

My favorite thing this week was….

I loved watching the girls work together to plan, implement, and carry out their business plan at the craft fair.

I am grateful for….

The beautiful weather that we are having!

Linked Up with….

The Homeschool Mother's Journal


About byhisdesign5

Headed to South Africa; following God's lead!
This entry was posted in homeschooling, Weekly Wrap Up and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to an ordinary week

  1. Jennifer says:

    Beautiful pictures! I’m visiting from your link at the Homeschool Mother’s Journal.

  2. Anna-Marie says:

    You had a very busy week. Love the pictures of the zoo. Thanks for linking up to the Field trip hop!

  3. Sarah says:

    Looks like a great week! Love the zoo and art pictures. The costumes are great for last minute. I especially love Pippi. One of mine has been having a lot of meltdowns over math too. I don’t know what to do either because I’m sure she knows it and it’s a confidence thing.

  4. Penny says:

    Sounds like a pretty full week! I always have to go look at the calendar and my plan book to do my weekly wrap up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

