30 Days of Thanksgiving – Day 18

I still see her as my little baby in NICU – so fragile and helpless. So vulnerable and in need of constant care. I wanted to just wrap her up and cuddle her, but I couldn’t. She was in the basinette, and my touch (anyone’s touch) would stress her breathing. She had monitors all around and was fed through a tube. All I wanted to do was hold her. Even as a nurse (or maybe because I was a nurse and could imagine all that could go wrong) I was intimidated.

We watched the 4th of July fireworks from the NICU window. I wondered if she would see next years firework from outside.

The Lord blessed us! I am so thankful!! Middle Sis is now a strong, silly, intelligent tween.


When she loves, she loves with her whole heart. Her friendships are deep and strong and last despite time and distance.

She recently told us that she felt that the Lord was calling her to foreign missions. Even though she is young, she feels the pull on her heartstrings. I pray that I have the strength to trust the Lord and let her fly. I am thankful for Middle Sis and all that she brings to our family and our life.

About byhisdesign5

Headed to South Africa; following God's lead!
This entry was posted in 30 Days of Thanksgiving Challenge, daughters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Days of Thanksgiving – Day 18

  1. Beautiful story and sentiments. The Lord gives us a true sense of His heart through the children He blesses and challenges us to love and care for. What a blessing to see how far she’s come after such a difficult start. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

