Be Flexible…..

In my life this week…

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  Philippians 4:6

Worrying comes very natural to me.  I have really had to repeat this verse a lot lately. Each day is a new day, and I have to turn my worries over to the Lord daily. I am thankful that He is my Provider.

We brought all the Christmas decorations out this week. The tree is up. And although the Man jokes about it being Charlie Brown’s Christmas tree, I love it. It is decorated with things that the girls have made over the year.  All the nativity scenes are up and in place.  Advent has started – we are anticipating the birth of Jesus Christ!

In our homeschool this week…

Monday – The girls were still traveling back home with Pops so they got an extra holiday day. I love the flexibility of homeschooling. AwEsOmE!!!!!

Tuesday – Back to the grind.  We are not early morning people so I let the girls wake up on their own (except for Big Sis – she would sleep until noon if I let her).  Easy morning getting back into the routine after the wonderful Thanksgiving break. Have I mentioned that I love the flexibility of homeschooling?

Wednesday – Co-op day! Public Speaking, Latin, and science lab – woohoo!!! In public speaking, the older two had to give a current event speech. Middle Sis’ speech was on the persecution of Christians and focused on the pastor in Iran. I was impressed with her choice. She has been reading Jesus Freaks.

While the older two were in Latin, Lil Sis and I have a math “date.”  That is what they have started calling one-on-one time with me – a “date.”  🙂  She started on fractions and said “Oh Mom, this is ssooooooooooo easy!”  I pray that it continues to be easy for her.

In Science lab, we started a nature study. I have been reading the Handbook of Nature Study blog and love the ideas. So I decided to incorporate nature study into science lab.

Thursday – I worked today so it was an independent study day.  And everyone went to chapel with the Man.

Friday – I had several “dates.” I had math dates with everyone, and a prepositional phrase date with Lil Sis.

Big Sis and Lil Sis had the opportunity to perform piano/violin at one of the local hospitals.  Each played three songs for the audience. So amazed by my musically talented girls!

She is not mad. This is her concentration face!

I am inspired by…

The ideas over at the Handbook of Nature Study are great. I hope to use more in our science lab co-op as well as with the girls.

Outdoor Hour button

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

The next two weeks are packed with choir performances, piano/violin recitals, Christmas dinners with friends, drama performances, and Christmas parties. So excited to see all that the girls have learned in some of their extracurricular activities.

My favorite thing this week was…

Starting our Advent Jesse Tree.  See Ann Voskamp’s A Holy Experience to get your own Jesse Tree Devotional.  I also love looking at all of her amazing “snowy” pictures – especially since we are still in short sleeves and flip-flops somedays.

Things I’m working on…

I realized that I have been pushing Big Sis too hard with her math. So I am working on slowing down and not worrying. I have to remind myself that she doesn’t have to be a math genius. And we don’t have a deadline that we have to meet.

I’m cooking…

Vegetable soup!!!

I’m praying for…

Each day, I am giving up my habit of worry and praying for His comfort – He is our Jehovah Jireh!
 
Linked-up with:
 
 
 


The Homeschool Mother's Journal

About byhisdesign5

Headed to South Africa; following God's lead!
This entry was posted in homeschooling, Learning!Loving!Living! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Be Flexible…..

  1. sharla says:

    What an impressive topic your daughter chose for her public speaking!

    I also love the flexibility of homeschooling! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. Natalie says:

    Thank you for your comment on my blog yesterday 🙂 I agree about the flexibility in homeschooling- it is wonderful!!! I’m going to check out Jesus Freaks for my oldest- thanks for sharing.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Your Christmas tree is gorgeous! And congratulations to your daughters on their musical performances and on the public speaking.

  4. Stef Layton says:

    I needed to read this – thank you !
    Each day, I am giving up my habit of worry and praying for His comfort – He is our Jehovah Jireh!

Leave a Reply

