a week of beautiful days

In My Life this week….

Well, I have really been enjoying the beautiful weather this week. I have seen pictures of friends who are getting blanketed with snow. So I apologize now for saying that it has been beautiful here this week. I have been getting outside as much as possible. I have also become a little bit addicted to The Hunger Games. Luckily, I finished the trilogy this afternoon so after a few withdrawal symptoms I should make a full recovery.

In our homeschool this week…
Monday – An independent study day! Everyone worked on their assignments and projects without difficulty. I received no panic-filled, emotionally charged phone calls at work – so things must have been okay.

I did not want MLK Day to go by without acknowledgement. So the girls watched the Martin Luther King “I have a dream speech” and wrote a paragraph. They were really good!!

Lil Sis had her violin lesson. She prefers that the Man go with her so we are blessed that he is able to go on Monday afternoons this semester. She said that she “tore it up.”  I think that is good 🙂

Tuesday – We got started a little later than normal. We just can”t seem to get up and get moving in the morning. But we finally did and had a great day! Just worked through math, language arts, history, music, and Bible.

Big Sis is working really hard on her math. After our “blow-up” last week, I was afraid that she would just completely block out everything. But she pushed through and has adding, subtracting, multiplying, and dividing integers down – yea!!!!

Lil Sis is doing Easy Grammar. We just started working on it because Editor in Chief wasn”t really working for her. This is our first try at Easy Grammar. The book is HUGE!! I don”t know if we will finish it, but we are going to keep pushing through. I have had to relearn things about prepositions – not sure if I am relearning or actually learning the info 🙂

Wednesday – All of our Wednesday co-op classes started back today. Middle Sis and Big Sis had Latin II and Elegant Essays/Public Speaking. While they were in classes, Lil Sis worked on all of her independent subjects. She is getting more and more independent, and I have mixed emotions about that 🙂

We got back in the swing of Science Lab. I was planning on having to do science lab inside for the next few weeks because of cold weather. However, it was a beautiful day!!! So we studied human anatomy in the sunshine. They made life-size bodies by outlining their own body on butcher paper. Afterwards, they drew all the bones that they knew.

Thursday – Although I had a regular school day planned, we just did not feel like doing the work. So we had a spontaneous R-A-D day! Read All Day!!!! So we snuggled up and read through the morning. In the afternoon, we grabbed some junk food and headed outside to read under the big oak trees. FUN!!! Middle Sis, Big Sis, and I are reading the Hunger Games trilogy. Lil Sis is reading the last book in the Percy Jackson series. My kind of day!!

Towards the end of the day, Lil Sis was ready to get moving. So I gave her my camera to see what she would see. Look at our Urban Nature Walk to see some of her other pictures.  She took about 50 pictures in 20 minutes. These are a few that made me smile. Included in the captions are reasons that she gave me for taking the particular pictures

God likes pink!

 

These trees are ssoooo big. And ssooo strong. You know that they survived Hurricane Katrine. God must make their roots really deep because He wants them here forever

 

Friday – Big Sis and Middle Sis had an extra Latin lesson today. Since we were out late volunteering at Global Maritime Ministries, Lil Sis and I were a bit lazy.  So we didn”t get much accomplished before it was lunch time.

Big Sis had flute and piano in the afternoon. And Middle Sis had her first piano lesson. So thankful for the amazing musical talent that is available on campus and is willing to invest in the children. While they were in their lessons, Lil Sis and I sat outside and got her math, science, and language arts completed. Another beautiful day!!

Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…

Be flexible. I know that I have written before about how much I love the flexibility of homeschooling.

My favorite thing this week was…

Our R.A.D. day. So much fun!!!

Things I’m working on…

I am already tired of all the political talk and the elections are still 10 months away. I am not following any particular candidate and have not even listened to one debate. But I do feel a stirring in my heart that something in this country needs to change. And the only way to change anything is through prayer. I am working on a project that will, prayerfully, bring prayer warriors together to pray as one for the elections and for our country. More to come later…..

I’m reading…
The Hunger Game trilogy. Middle Sis and Big Sis wanted to read it after hearing about it from a friend so I decided that we would read it together. It is fun having discussions about the characters, plot, etc. It has been a great hit! However, I am a little concerned about seeing the movie because of the violence. Any thoughts???

I’m praying for…

Two dear friends who are needing to make life changing decisions. Praying that the Lord will make His path clear from both of them.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…
I know this has been going crazy on facebook this week, but I couldn”t help myself. So funny…and so true!!

 Linked in with….


About byhisdesign5

Headed to South Africa; following God's lead!
This entry was posted in homeschooling, ScienceLab, Weekly Wrap Up and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a week of beautiful days

  1. I love your daughter’s photos. And I saw that video earlier this week: hilarious!!!

Leave a Reply

