a week of revival

In my life this week…

We have had campus revival on campus this week. It was wonderful! The worship was amazing. The preaching was outstanding – even when he stepped on toes and pierced hearts. It is great. So we, basically, had a field trip – to chapel – Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. Yea!!

I loved the sermon titled “I don”t love you anymore!”  Makes you wonder where that is headed, doesn”t it?
Do not love the world nor the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh and the lust of the eyes and the boastful pride of life, is not from the Father, but is from the world. The world is passing away, and also its lusts; but the one who does the will of God lives forever. 1 John 2:15-17

Click here to listen to the archived sermons.  Scroll down until you get to Dr Nathan Cothen. He doesn”t hold back anything and you will be challenged!

In our homeschool this week…

School work? Did we do any school work this week? Yes, I think that we did a little in between going to chapel and enjoying lunch with the Man. Most days followed a schedule that looked something like this……..
9:00 get up; have some breakfast
9:30 Bible time/study
10:00 Do some book work – math, reading, grammar, science, history (whatever you want to do first) 🙂
11:00 Chapel
12:15 Lunch with the Man
1:00 Come home; do a little bit more school work

Big Sis and Middle Sis did complete their science module this week. And Lil Sis focused her math-time on fractions. But, overall, a very laid back, stress-free week!! LOVE IT!!!

We did have science lab on Wednesday and study genetics. Everyone helped get our “genetics tree” ready. Here Lil Sis is on the table coloring 🙂

Our “genetics tree” with leaves…

Do you have attached earlobes?

Can you taste PTC – bitterness?

Can you roll your tongue?

 After everyone determined where they went on the “genetics tree,” we decided to expand our data sample. Lots of fun genetics and statistics!! Love throwing a little math in there to keep them hopping 🙂

Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…

A child is defined as your heart running around outside your body for the rest of your life. Dr Nathan Cothen 

Make the most of all the time that you have with them – invest now, so that you don”t grieve later!! 

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

Memaw and Pop are coming to NOLA this weekend!!

My favorite resource this week was….

Teach.Genetics is a great website with lots of free lesson plans for science.  I got our “genetic tree” science lab from here. Some of the activities are extensive and would require a lot of supplies. However, for our science lab, all that I need was some butcher paper to make the tree and PTC paper.

 

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

Just want to share a quick video of where we live and homeschool!

Linked together in community with…

Favorite Resource This Week

About byhisdesign5

Headed to South Africa; following God's lead!
This entry was posted in homeschooling, ScienceLab, Weekly Wrap Up and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to a week of revival

  1. Karyn says:

    Hey! I just discovered your site from the About.Com Blog awards. I am another one of the finalists over there- Teach Beside Me. I wanted to invite you over to my site- I have a homeschool blog list. I would love to have you add your site! Thanks!!

    • Amy says:

      Thanks for visiting! I love your site – lots of good ideas. I added my site to your list and put your button on my site. It is nice to “meet” you!!

      Happy Homeschooling 🙂

  2. Susan says:

    That genetics tree project is a very cool idea! I will be checking out the site you mentioned. Thanks for linking with Favorite Resources!

  3. I love the Genetic Tree too! Cheers to a stress free week:) Thank you for sharing.

  4. Stef Layton says:

    I can roll my tongue – both ways

  5. Jenn says:

    Isn’t genetics amazing?! We’ve been doing some of the same activities here! We loved the video…so beautiful…so different than the small town where we live. Of course, I went to college in Louisiana, so I’m biased!!

  6. Craig says:

    first I read through the book review – probably not a book I’ll be reading 🙂 second I read about your revival – awesome! And then this – THIS is an amazing AMAZING lesson to teach – your babies are lucky to have you as a teacher. Before this year I knew one homeschooling mom all my life – now I know so many – and I just keep getting astonished by them – and today by you. God bless and keep you and each and every one of yours Amy.

  7. Pingback: a life of gratitude (499-522) | By His Design 5

Leave a Reply

