Book Review – Mercy Come Morning

Mercy Come Morning by Lisa T. Bergren is a heart-warming story of young women who is struggling to face her mother’s death and accept her own future. Krista Mueller has been waiting for her mother’s death for years. As the slow decline of Alzheimer’s takes an uncaring mother away, Krista runs far away in order to forget a hurtful past. Krista returns to her hometown expecting to spend a few days with her mother before she dies then return to her new life in Colorado. However, the town of Taos in New Mexico and the people from her past have a different idea for Krista.  Through reconnecting with her mother and old boyfriend, Krista realizes that each day is a gift from God. This is a story about finding joy, acceptance, and forgiveness.

I have read several of Lisa Bergren’s books and have enjoyed each one. Mercy Come Morning appealed to me on many different areas. Lisa did a great job at bring the struggles that many families face when dealing with Alzheimer’s.  As a southern girl who loves to travel and learn about different cultures, there is descriptions of New Mexico (I have never been but hope to go one day) and its unique culture to help me “see” the place.  I also love that God and His sovereign will is evident throughout the book.  I always appreciate an author who is willing to write about real life situations and weave God into the story. I also like that this is a book that I could (and will) encourage my tween/teen girls to read.

I received a complimentary copy of this book through the Waterbrook Multnomah Blogging for Books blogger program in exchange for a review. I am not required to provide a positive review, and all opinions are my own.

 

 

About byhisdesign5

Headed to South Africa; following God's lead!
This entry was posted in For the Love of a good BOOK and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

