a life of gratitude (579-603)

Pushing forward.

It is sometimes harder than I imagined. Sometimes the frustration – particularly at work – almost overflows. I wonder – Why did this person go into nursing? Why are they here?

Healthcare in America – frustrating! For the consumer, it is absolutely frustrating.  For the provider, there are frustrations that only someone in that arena can truly understand.

I loved the medical clinics in Africa. So little – yet so grateful for what was available.  Little ones that many had turned their backs on gathered together and brought into the clinic. Mamas from all over moving aside so that the babies could be first.

We sense and hear a disturbance. Women arguing. Not at each other – but at a man who would dare complain about the babies being put in front.  These woman recognizing that those little ones are the generation that could/would make a difference. Their gratitude evident in the way they smiled to show us that they were there to help.

Life is about the people. People that the Lord places directly in your path. Some will be a frustration to you. Some will make you smile. But each one is a child of God.

If only we could see each one as Jesus sees them. With grace! And gratitude that they are part of the journey.

I continue counting! Blessed by so many through this journey…

579. a group that responds to a crisis in a calm manner – even when others aren’t so calm
580. rainy days made for books and movies
581. the green springtime that follows the rainy days

582. a youth group going to visitation to support their friends who have lost their earthly father.
583. youth leaders who are investing in the Kingdom by investing in our children
584. the youth drama team excited about their next adventure

585. a good nap before a night shift
586. Girl Scout cookies
587. back up generators that automatically come on after 5 seconds of a power outage and keep the hospital functional
588. Middle Sis and Little Sis snuggling on the couch on a rainy day watching a movie – some Sista Luv!!
589. a sweet friend who is willing to be our chauffeur and tour guide
590. a family opening their home
591. having fun learning some Mississippi, U.S., and American Indian history.
592. generations gathered together to keep their traditions alive

593. some good BBQ 🙂

594. prayers being lift for a friend’s son who was in a car accident
595. Big Sis praying with her friend who lost her dad
596. several families dedicating their babies to the Lord
597. the pastor’s comments about the upcoming opportunities for international missions
598. a conversation between me, the Man, and Big Sis that (prayerfully) will help her see that her worth is in Jesus – not all the trappings of this world
599. that they still want to watch silly, girly movies
600. the Man allowing us to watch silly, girly movies 🙂
601. her comment – “well, my class reunion will only have two other people – and they are both my sisters! I guess that’s cool.”
602. hearing “Thanks for taking us, Mom. That was fun.”
603. being able to purchase tickets to the Broadway “Lion King” that is in NOLA for a limited time

 

 

About byhisdesign5

Headed to South Africa; following God's lead!
This entry was posted in 1000 Gifts, Joy Dare! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a life of gratitude (579-603)

  1. The this.gs the Lord shows us to keep life in perspective… wow

  2. Rebecca says:

    My daughter is a pediatric nurse and I’ve heard ‘the other side’ of healthcare. I know it can be quite frustrating but every night, when she calls me on her way to work I remind her of our family verse, Matthew 5:16. She is known for being that ‘bright shining light’ and I know you probably are, too! Thanks for sharing about the medical clinics in Africa.

  3. Beautifully said! Rainy days make for books and movies… oh I love those rainy days! Generations gathered together to keep their traditions alive… that is so wonderful! #598… I made an art piece to remind me of this. It is the inner beauty that matters most in HIS eyes! 🙂

  4. Craig says:

    first, Amy, a big Amen for seeing not only babies, but everybody as God sees them. As I write this I’m looking at two groundskeepers hired but the city. And they are doing… Nothing, and have been for the last 25 min. No lunch, no “official” break – they just stopped working. and sat, one smoked a few cigarettes (the butts of which he threw down on the ground). They told jokes to each other and laughed – but the grass didn’t get any shorter, the edges didn’t get any cleaner – and I wanted to…judge…and began to. Then I read your post. I don’t know them, I don’t know their heart, I don’t know all the details, only God does – only God CAN judge. from your words – to my heart – I get the lesson. Thank you. And going through your thank you list I found a favorite – it’s your hubs “letting” you and the girls watch girl movies. Good for you – good for HIM. Made me smile. God bless and keep you and each and every one of yours Amy.

  5. Sarah says:

    such a joyfilled list.

    Splashing around in God’s goodness today … Had to stop by and wade in this glorious place. Hope you don’t mind if I stay a bit and let joy soak deep down.

    Splashin’
    Sarah

    http://justsarahdawn.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

