Owl Pellets and Wild Animals

In my life this week…

Busy, fun week! The weather has been B-E-A-utiful which has made our spring fever a little worse. But our rally cry – Finish Strong!!!!

I had a few extra hours at work that meant the girls did some extra independent study time. I am amazed at how well they do with just a little supervision.  It is a long way for the total chaos the first few months that we began homeschooling.  Now, with a little direction and supervision, all three of studying and learning on their own. Love it!!! It makes the times when we work on projects together or can get out and do things together so much more enjoyable.

In our homeschool this week…

We had a little field trip to Natchez, Mississippi over the weekend to see the Natchez Powwow. The vibrant, beautiful colors along with the drums and chanting were amazing. It was a fun way to learn about Mississippi, U.S., and Native American history.

Lil Sis finished her Apologia book – Flying Creatures of the Fifth Day!! That means that we are going to schedule a trip to the Insectarium.

During science lab on Wednesday, we dissected owl pellets. It was great fun. We were able to identify what the owl had eaten based on the bones in the pellets.

Thursday was field trip day! Our homeschool group adventured to Global Wildlife Center to have some Wild Animal Fun!

Questions/thoughts I have…

If you go on a field trip or do a school-related project on a weekend day, do you count it in your number of school days?

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

Next week are testing which means we won’t be going or seeing anyone most of the week  😦  I think that we might plan that trip to the Insectarium for later in the week when testing is over!

My favorite resource this week was…

I didn’t really use this resource this week, but it looks wonderful.  I hope to use some of it in the future. Global Wildlife Center has a great teacher resource page with lesson plans on endangered species, conservation, adaptation, animal diets, and research.

I’m reading…

My Kindle, again!! My old one has been replaced and that makes me a happy girl.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

Linked in community with…


The Homeschool Mother's Journal
Favorite Resource This Week

About byhisdesign5

Headed to South Africa; following God's lead!
This entry was posted in homeschooling, Weekly Wrap Up and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Owl Pellets and Wild Animals

  1. Those field trips look AH-mazing! I’m a sucker for field trips anyway…but especially super fun ones. 🙂

    Great question about counting the weekend activities. I’ve wondered that myself. I haven’t been counting it…but I’ve always wondered if I should.

    Thanks for stopping by my place today!

    …danielle

  2. Jen says:

    I definitely count field trips as a school day! Looks like yours was lots of fun 🙂

  3. First time visiting your blog! your girls are so beautiful! I love all your photos!!!!!! what an incredible vaca!

  4. Susan says:

    Looks like you had some great field trips! And, by the way, sure…why not count them as a school day?! Dissecting the owl pellets sounds like a great learning experience. I’ve been wanting to try that with my girls, but we haven’t yet.
    I am off to explore that Global Wildlife Center page you linked! Thanks for sharing with Favorite Resources 🙂

  5. What a great field trip. My five year old watched your video with me and he was all giggly when the giraffes came to the people. Thank you so much for sharing your fun week.

  6. Jamie says:

    Just found you blog. I love to see home schooling blogs for older kids, my son is ten. I look forward to following you and getting inspiration. Thanks!

  7. I keep saying we’re going to do an owl pellet but haven’t yet. Grossly interesting!

    YES, we totally count field trips as school days! They count them in public school, so why shouldn’t we?

  8. Great wrap up – coming from HMJ and Fave Resources – I love the indian huts! We have been on the road and stopped to learn about Creek indians and their awesome underground mounds in GA – the National Monument at Ocmulgee – great experience. Your girls are so pretty – I have 3 boys myself 😉 happy homeschooling!

Leave a Reply

