a week of testing….

In my life this week…

Well, it has been an eventful week. Yet, there is not really much to report. We have been dealing with thunderstorms, tornadoes, flooding, and testing. I have been dealing with a painful foot. Not sure what I have done! It just started hurting Monday while I was at work.  Hurts from the heel down the arch to my big toe. Just weird!!!

In our homeschool this week…

Standardized testing!! Hard on a homeschool family that doesn’t have a structured morning schedule – we don’t all get up at the same time every day and get school started.  But we survived.  All three girls tested, and I was a tester. After the first day, Lil Sis wanted to know what else she had to do for school – NOTHING, GO PLAY OUTSIDE! Oh, wait! Come back inside and practice your violin. Then you can go outside. 🙂

Big Sis gave me a personal, private flute concert. AMAZING!!!! Love all the music that flows through our home at any given moment.

We did have some fun. Testing was completed on Thursday, and everyone was ready for some fun.  Lunch at our favorite pizza place and the movies. Despite my reluctance about the movie, we went to see The Hunger Games. I thought it was very well done. The violence was there but not as in your face as it could have been. Some good conversations occurred. No one seems to be traumatized from the event.

In honor of Lil Sis completing Apologia’s Flying Creatures of the Fifth Day, we worked on a small project and then headed to the Insectarium. She created a book on some of the amazing creatures in the Insecta family.

We had a great field trip to the Insectarium.  I always love when the girls get to see some of the same things that they have learned in books.  Lil Sis had grumbled a little bit about the learning about taxonomy. But, then, she actually saw some of the taxonomy words. WOW! People actually use this stuff.  🙂

Middle Sis’ favorite thing this week was learning to pump gas. According to her it was cool until the Man started telling her a story about his old Mustang and high octane gas.  Her words – Then he just lost me, Mama. Gotta love those practical lessons.

Things I’m working on…

I have started looking at curriculum for next  year. Preparing early instead of procrastinating!  I would love some of my blogging friends to link in here about their favorite curriculum or a new adventure they are going to use. I will have a highschooler next year so I would love to hear.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

Happy Easter! Our Savior Lives!!!

Linked in community with….


The Homeschool Mother's Journal

About byhisdesign5

Headed to South Africa; following God's lead!
This entry was posted in homeschooling, This and that, Weekly Wrap Up and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a week of testing….

  1. Always love reading about the things you and your girls are doing! Your foot problem may be plantar fascitis. Ive had problem with mine since last september

    • Amy says:

      I had plantar fascitis when I was pregnant with Middle Sis. I remember that it would be really painful in the morning or when I walked on it after sitting for a while. But it would get better the more I stretched it and move. Not so this time. It gets more painful as the day goes on. I don’t know – just want it to go away 🙂

Leave a Reply

