a week with spring fever….

In my life this week…

We are trying to finish strong!  Spring fever has infected every person in our home. Especially me!! I just want to be outside exploring. I am finding it hard to complete any one thing – jumping from one interest or project to the next. But we will push on! And we will complete this school year strong!

In our homeschool this week…

The calendar is getting full with all of the end of the year performances and recitals. In response to the performances, the girls have been practicing hard. Flute, piano, violin, choir, and drama – the arts – have been heavily weighted in our home this week.

Early Thursday morning, the Man left on a trip with one of his classes. Everyone is a little cranky when he isn’t around.  Lots of “Daddy’s girls” in this place!! My response to the cranky attitudes is to stay busy and get out of the house as much as possible.

We had a night time field trip on Thursday to the Mahalia Jackson Center of Performing Arts to see The Lion King. The broadway version. AH-mazing!!! It was so wonderful. We dressed up. I even left Lil Sis put on a little make-up. Don’t tell her but it was just mascara and you really couldn’t tell – but she felt so grown up.

On Friday, we had another field trip. To the Audubon Zoo. Our family pass has definitely been worth the money this year. We decided to spend some time focusing on the animals that we had seen in The Lion King.

Mufasa or Scar….

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

Next week is going to be sssoooo exciting. Friends from Georgia are coming down for the weekend. I can’t wait to spend time with them. And the tall ships are coming to New Orleans for Navy Week.

Things I’m working on/praying for…

I am continuing to work on the project that the Lord has put on my heart. Praying that the Lord will use me to make a difference.  I hope to be able to share that with you soon.

My favorite resource this week…

I have been looking at curriculum for next year. Hhhmmmm – Maybe that’s why I am having trouble finishing strong?!?!

About the only thing that we have decided on is that everyone wants to continue using the LifePac Bible curriculum. They really enjoy the little workbooks and have learned so much. This is our first year using LifePac. I am amazed at the information that is included in this curriculum – especially the older books. Easy to use for each girl and easy to grade.  They also create some great conversations.

Linked in community with…
The Homeschool Mother's Journal


Favorite Resource This Week

About byhisdesign5

Headed to South Africa; following God's lead!
This entry was posted in homeschooling, Weekly Wrap Up and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to a week with spring fever….

  1. So funny you recommended Dolphin Tale Curriculum- I just finished printing it out & clicked over to check my site- 🙂 honest. pretty funny – huh? Love your Lion King adventure! fun!

  2. Christy says:

    I’ve been looking for someone who uses the Lifepac Bible curriculum. We are using the Lifepac 5th grade History as a gap filler and the Lifepac Health Quest right now. We really like them and I was wondering about their Bible curriculum for next year. I’m not terribly pleased by what is offered by our religion’s publishing house, but I also want something that isn’t contrary to our religious beliefs. It’s hard to gauge without actually looking.

  3. Mary says:

    Awesome picture of the Lion!

  4. Phyllis says:

    Looks like a lot of fun…we have a bit of spring fever around here as well.

  5. Susan says:

    With so many things going on, it’s not surprising that it’s hard to stay focused! It is so tough in the spring to be focused … I think it’s because we’re meant to be outdoors as much as possible enjoying it!
    Thanks for sharing with Favorite Resources 🙂

  6. Jenn says:

    I know what you mean about “Daddy’s girls”…we’ll all be a little cranky next week with my husband out-of-town:(

    Yay for your fun week! We’re going to see the play Mary Poppins this week:)

    Loved your photos!

  7. Rebecca says:

    I think spring fever must be going around because we have it bad here as well! We attended the Lion King Show too….so amazing!!

Leave a Reply

