Two weeks worth…

In my life this week…

It has been a busy two weeks. I didn’t post a Weekly Wrap-up last week because I was too busy enjoying sweet friends that were in town. We are wrapping up the school year and trying to finish strong. I keep telling the girls that we are going to do year-around school. They aren’t really listening!

I am anticipating the summer break too much for them to really take me seriously. Continuing to work on the project that the Lord has placed on my heart. I hope to be completed with the writing part in next week and start on other parts of it. I have actually spoken the words to several people who are helping me be accountable to the project and are praying for God’s will for the project. Hopefully, I will be launching toward the beginning of June.

In our homeschool this week…

Busy, busy, busy. End of the year – crazy busy!! Recitals, choir performances, orchestra performances, recognition night, field day, end of the year wrap up….plus spring fever! That is what is happening in our home 🙂

We had our last science lab of the year. Studying gravity and drag! Sounds kind of boring….then we made parachutes to send to the Voice of the Martyrs. The parachutes will be used to drop Bibles into restricted countries. It was a great way to end the year – Bible, history/social studies, and science all rolled into one activity!!!

Last week, we spent some time studying the War of 1812 because we had a wonderful field trip planned. It was Navy Week in NOLA with the Navy ships and tall ships here to commemorate the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812.

Lil Sis is working on a new math program. I received A+ Tutor math software to review. She seems to be really enjoying it.  Look for an upcoming review to see what we decided. Other than math and Bible, she has finished all of her book work. We are going to spend some time learning about compasses and whatever else pops up that she wants to study. I guess we are going to do a little “unschooling” for the next few weeks. 🙂

Middle Sis just breezes along. Give her the assignments and off she goes. She has math, Bible, and science to finish. She wants to do some art projects so I am looking into these DVDs.

Big Sis also has math, Bible, and science book work to finish. She did a two-week math review with Thinkwell Math. Still not sure what Algebra 1 publisher we are going to use. We do know that we are going with a DVD/computer led program. Choosing between Thinkwell, A+ software, and Teaching Textbooks. Praying for some clarity! Big Sis wants to work on her sign language this summer. We have found a new friend that is also learning sign language. She and her husband will be going into the mission field to start deaf churches. Big Sis will be meeting with her to practice. So excited to see this gift being developed!!!

My favorite resource this week was…

I found some great history videos when I was creating our unit study on the War of 1812. History.com has short, easy to understand videos on all types of history. I watched the videos and made some short question sheets. The girls enjoyed watching the videos. Someone (I won’t tell which one)mentioned that it was a nice change from reading. Word of advice – set the videos up so that the kids don’t have to watch the advertisements.

The History Channel

I’m reading and praying for…

Praying Proverbs 31 – an ebook to lead you in a time of prayer for your daughter. If you would like to join us in a “virtual” Bible study, find “Moms Praying for Their Daughters” on facebook. Together, we are changing the world…one daughter at a time.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

NOBTS Youth orchestra performing with the seminary orchestra and choir. It was their first performance!!!

 

Linked in community with…
The Homeschool Mother's Journal

Favorite Resource This Week

About byhisdesign5

Headed to South Africa; following God's lead!
This entry was posted in homeschooling, Weekly Wrap Up and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Two weeks worth…

  1. It sounds like you had a great week!
    My daughter has discovered she likes A+ TutorSoft. I highly recommend it.
    Blessings,
    Angie

  2. Beautiful photos! I especially like the parachute/Bible one!

    My daughter is also trying A+ Math. It’s an interesting program! It’ll be fun to see your review later!

    We’re in the same boat with school: summer is so close that we’re not able to focus well!

  3. Christy says:

    Sounds like it was a fun week! I’d love to see all the ships too.
    Thanks for mentioning the History.com videos, I’d completely forgotten about those. It’s a good reminder for next year!

  4. Susan says:

    Seems like you all have been very busy! I really like the videos at History.com.
    Thanks for linking up with Favorite Resources.

  5. Memaw says:

    I have watched the girls orchestra clip (O Worship the King) a dozen times and continue to be impressed with their playing unto the Lord. Wow! I am blessed by their music.

Leave a Reply

