a life of gratitude (846-882)

Sometimes I am grumpy, short-tempered, and just generally not fun to be around.  Don’t believe me – ask the girls or the Man. They will be honest and say sometimes it is just best to leave mom alone! Being of the female persuasion, I sometimes blame PMS. One days right after a night shift, I blame sleep deprivation. Sometimes I blame someone else.

In truth, I can’t blame anything or anyone else from my grumpiness. It is a choice. 

“Joy is something that we have to choose and then work for.”
Francis Chan, Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God

I am a work in progress. No one said that being joyful would be easy. But with each blessing that I write – the closer I get to 1000 gifts – the more I realize that joy is a choice. Grumpiness is a choice.

I choose joy and continue counting….

846. forgiveness
847. the sweet voices of three girls singing praise in the car

The splendor of a King
Clothed in majesty
Let all the earth rejoice
All the earth rejoice

He wraps Himself in light
And darkness tries to hide
It trembles at His voice
Trembles at His voice

How great is our God, sing with me
How great is our God and all will see
How great, how great is our God

Age to age, He stands
And time is in His hands
Beginning and the end
Beginning and the end

The Godhead Three in One
Father, Spirit, Son
Lion and the Lamb
Lion and the Lamb

How great is our God, sing with me
How great is our God and all will see
How great, how great is our God

848. watching the Man teach his 4th grade vacation Bible school group
849. two lllooooonnnnngggggg days of classes completed
850. a message from a friend who has turned away from God asking me to pray for her
851. conversations with Big Sis about what is and is not appropriate for a boy to say to her
852. a church family that gives freely of their time and makes VBS a huge success
853. Papa driving all day to so that the girls can spend time with them
854. sleeping late on Saturday and getting up just to spend time with the Man
855. date night with the Man!!!!!
856. cleaning the apartment without little ones running in and out
857. a new haircut
858. Middle Sis catching her shark 🙂
859. pictures of the girls at the beach having a great time
860. people actually purchasing 30 Days of Prayer for Our Nation


861. cousins going a mission trips and being able to bless them financially; even just a little makes a difference
862. grandparents that go out of their way to spend time with the girls
863. a week of quiet
864. 300+ new brothers and sisters in Christ as a result of the street evangelism teams of Crossover
865. a class that was “just class” turned into so much more!
866. seeing the passion of outreach and missions rekindled in the Man
867. mission teams from all of the country gathered in the city for Crossover; reaching people with the love of Jesus
868. youth pastors who dedicate their lives to reaching the next generation
869. teenage hands raised in praise to the Lord
870. hearts of teenagers opened to the good news of the gospel
871. teens from across the city gathered to hear great music and speakers
872. praying with a sweet girl who wants her light to shine brighter and wants to be on fire for Jesus; her statement, “no more lukewarm for me!”
873. a great night sleep after a frustrating day at work
874. waiting impatiently for the girls to get home for their week-long adventure
875. getting texts from the girls with updates on how much longer it will be before they are home
876. safe travel for the girls and family
877. this song

878. a church family that radiates the love of Jesus
879. the girls getting the chance to sing with the youth choir at the WMU conference
880. having a great dad who might be far away but will always have part of my heart.
881. an amazing husband who is a super dad
882. a heavenly father that loves me despite my weaknesses

And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

Linked in community with…

About byhisdesign5

Headed to South Africa; following God's lead!
This entry was posted in 1000 Gifts, Joy Dare! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

